Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cannot upgrade ROM version

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> General Pocket PC Questions/Comments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tiking
Pocketeer


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:55 pm    Post subject: Cannot upgrade ROM version Reply with quote

Hi guys. I am trying to update an old IpAQ H3800 series pocket pc. The Rom version on the mobile windows says ROM 1.15, version 3.0.11171 (Build 11178). Now I went to the HP site for just this particular model to get updates and update to a newer ROM Version of 2.20 and it tells me the imgae is not the same when I wanted to upgrade the Rom Version.
I thought to myself, of course it is not the same that's why I want to upgrade it to the newer version. So I could not install the file. So I went back to the site with the drivers and saw they had an ealier version, 2.15. So I tried to installed that one first to see if it would help and I got the same message that the image is no the same as on the pocket pc. Now I am pissed. What do they mean by this? How can I upgrade from 1.15 to 2.20?
_________________
charles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
You need to review the options with HP. HP has pulled their Pocket PC 2003 upgrade many years ago. See http://www.hp.com/sbso/special/ppc_upgrade.html
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tiking
Pocketeer


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand they are no more but it still does not explain why the rom file i downloaded from them does not want to install. As long as there are files listed on their site for any particular product it should still work. I just install a file from them on that same site before i started this thread.
_________________
charles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I generally agree with you. However some updates are for a specific OS version so i can understand that you may have to have 2.x to install an update to 2.20 for example.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tiking
Pocketeer


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. I managed to find the proper Rom file for my unit.Now I followed the installation instructions until it came to the part where you have to hold 3 buttons at the same time until a usb window pops up. I came this far until I I mounted my unit onto the cradle and the installation tells me it cannot find my unit. Weird. When i soft started the unit and mounted it without preparing for the new ROM upgrade the computer found my device. It seems when I put the unit into 'prepare to install new ROM' mode it looses contact with the device manager. Has anyone experience this?
_________________
charles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
All rom updates for this device were done with XP. Also, it's common for the device to drop the connection and reconnect when going into the bootloader to install a new rom.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tiking
Pocketeer


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So do i just keep trying to update the rom until it sees the device?
_________________
charles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
You need to review the documentation to ensure it is for the OS version you have installed already on the device (there are 2 OS versions that are available for that device). Then try another USB port on your PC - don't use a hub for example. After that you can try another PC.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tiking
Pocketeer


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright. I will give it a try. Thanks. I will let you know the results.
_________________
charles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerard
Administrator


Joined: 01 Sep 2000
Posts: 2346
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you'll also want to ensure that Windows Firewall and any other port-blocking software is not running while you try to upgrade, as connections can easily be lost when a firewall doesn't 'like' a device. Another option might be to try and flash the NBH file (if that's what the ROM image is, which is normally the case) directly from an SD card. It shouldn't be too difficult to find a discussion somewhere on the specific steps needed to do this, how to get into the bootloader and proceed via button presses.

Whichever route you use, do make sure that power supply to the device is not interrupted during the update. Same goes for a USB connection, which as Chris says should not be via the less reliable connection of a hub. If you're in doubt about a particular USB port on your computer (on my Asus netbook for example, the left-side port is infamously unreliable, where the two on the right get full power and never seem to have difficulties connecting), make sure you use a more reliable one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tiking
Pocketeer


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried all usb ports and others and still no connection when I put the unit in remote usb update. I am reaching the end of my wits with this darn unit. Why does installing have to be so darn difficult. MY GOD!!!

I have been reading else where on the net of people using a utility program called multi-port / usb tty to install the rom update from a sd card. Where can i download this file? I have been searching for this download and have been very unlucky. Now only if I ca get a step by step instructions on how to install the ROM from a SD card. Otherwise I am going to throw this worthless piece of crap out the window. I am really getting fedup.
_________________
charles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tiking
Pocketeer


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help guys but this is not working out for me. I am selling it cheap to someone who as time and patience. It is the worst unit i have ever handle.
_________________
charles
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerard
Administrator


Joined: 01 Sep 2000
Posts: 2346
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Considering that the 3800 series came out in 2001, that opinion is not very surprising. It's an antique. In general electonics, and of course operating systems, don't age well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> General Pocket PC Questions/Comments All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group